The World Health Organisation said it had confirmed 131 cases of monkeypox with 106 cases still suspected since the outbreak of the virus in early May.

Seventeen countries where monkeypox is non-endemic have reported cases so far. In non-endemic countries, one case is considered an outbreak.

Countries that have reported cases are Australia, Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, the UK, US, Austria, Denmark, Israel, Scotland and Switzerland.

The WHO had said that the identification of confirmed and suspected cases of monkeypox with no direct travel links to an endemic area represented a highly unusual event.

Monkeypox is a usually mild viral infection that is endemic in parts of the west and central Africa. The West African strain of monkeypox which has also been identified in the current outbreak has a mortality rate of about one percent.

According to the WHO, current available evidence suggests that those who are most at risk are those who have had close physical contact with someone with monkeypox, while they are symptomatic.

Credit: Punch

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.