President Bola Tinubu yesterday, approved the staggered takeoff of six out of 14 public universities established in the twilight of the Muhammadu Buhari administration.

Minister of Education, Professor Tahir Mamman, who revealed this to State House Correspondents, said the choice of the universities which are two colleges of agriculture, education and medicine each, was strategic to the skills-empowerment goals of the Tinubu-led administration.

The Buhari administration approved the establishment of no fewer than 75 universities, encompassing federal, state and private institutions within seven years.

However, Mamman said the Federal Government lacked the funds and qualified staffing to kick start all institutions at once as they are capital intensive.

He added that the Tinubu administration will be “conservative” in doling out approvals for the establishment of new universities.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *