The ruling All Progressives Congress, Peoples Democratic Party, Social Democratic Party and 13 other political parties are jostling to produce the next governor of Ekiti State in today’s election.

The exercise is scheduled to hold across the 2,445 polling units in the 16 local government areas of the state.

The other parties include Accord Party, African Action Congress, African Democratic Congress, Action Democratic Party, All Progressives Grand Alliance, Allied Peoples Movement, Action Peoples Party, Labour Party, New Nigeria People’s Party, National Rescue Movement, Peoples Redemption Party, Young Progressives Party and Zenith Labour Party.

Meanwhile, sequel to the signing into law the Electoral Bill, assented to by the President Muhammadu Buhari on February 25, 2022, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) says it will begin the electronic transmission of results with the Ekiti governorship election.

The Act empowers the commission to transmit election results in a way it determines.

The commission however noted that there would still be manual transmission of results to complement the electronic option.

Credit: Punch

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.