The leadership of Tinubu-Shettima Presidential Campaign Council yesterday defended the omission of Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo and Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, from its 422-man list, saying the decision was taken on the directive of the President Muhammadu Buhari.

The development is coming hours after the comprehensive list of campaign council members was unveiled after weeks of anxiety and serial postponements.

Political observers were, however, quick to observe that despite comprising names of party dignitaries including APC governors, ministers, lawmakers, ambassadors as well as serving and past public office holders, several notable names of members and former aspirants were omitted.

Aside from Osinbajo and Mustapha, other missing names included former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara; former Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Babachir Lawal; former Minister of State for Education, Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba; Director General of Voice of Nigeria, Osita Okechukwu and one of Tinubu’s sweat merchant, Adebayo Shittu, who heads one of his biggest support groups — Asiwaju Tinubu-Shettima Coalition for Good Governance.

But The Chief Spokesperson of the Tinubu/Shettima Presidential Campaign Council, Festus Keyamo, issued a statement explaining the absence of Osinbajo and Mustapha from the list.

According to the Minister of State for Labour and Employment, Buhari gave a directive for both parties to be dropped to avoid abandoning governance for electioneering campaigns.

Credit: Punch

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *