The National Chairman of the All Progressive Congress, Adamu Abdullahi yesterday, met with the party’s senators.

Adamu arrived at the National Assembly complex some minutes past 2pm and moved to the office of the Senate President, Ahmed Lawan, for a brief meeting before the general meeting.

Earlier, Lawan while reading the letter signed by the Senate Deputy Majority leader, Ajayi Borofice, had announced that the meeting will take place by 2pm at the premises.

It was learnt that the number of APC senators has dropped to 62 after consistent defection of the party’s lawmakers especially those who were unable to secure return tickets to the chamber.

Two senators from Bauchi and Imo States had during the plenary resigned their membership of the All Progressives Congress and Peoples Democratic Party respectively.

The lawmakers are Senator Dauda Jika representing Bauchi Central and elected on the platform of the APC; and Senator Ezenwa Francis Onyewuchi representing Imo East Senatorial District, who was elected on the platform of the PDP.

Both Senators in separate letters addressed to Lawan, conveyed their decision to resign their membership of the APC and PDP, to join the Labour Party and New Nigeria Peoples Party respectively.

Wednesday’s defection brings the number of APC Senators to 66, with members of the minority parties standing at 43.

Also the minority parties in the Senate are presently five in number as at Wednesday, June 22nd, 2022.

Credit: Punch

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.